Press Information

Press Bio

Frank X Walker is the author of four poetry collections: When Winter Come: the Ascension of York (University Press of Kentucky, 2008); Black Box (Old Cove Press, 2005); Buffalo Dance: the Journey of York (University Press of Kentucky, 2003), which won the Lillian Smith Book Award in 2004; and Affrilachia (Old Cove Press, 2000). A 2005 recipient of the Lannan Literary Fellowship in Poetry, Walker serves as Writer in Residence and lecturer of English at Northern Kentucky University and is the proud editor and publisher of PLUCK!, the new Journal of Affrilachian Art & Culture. [ Read his full bio. ]

On Frank

"The work of Frank X Walker is an eclectic, powerful mixture of liberating style, profound insight, and unwavering organic connection to the intellectual, political, and cultural struggles of a people. He stands in the tradition of DuBois, McKay, Robeson, Hughes, and other great writers, poets and performers whose contributions have transcended time and space to give generation after generation pause and hope." — Ricky L. Jones, author of Black Haze

On Buffalo Dance: the Journey of York

"An ardently imagined and gloriously vivid first-person account of York’s awe over the munificent and daunting wilderness, and instant rapport with the Indians he meets.”— Booklist (starred review)

“A brave collection of poems. . . . Brims with the rich complexity of York’s condition in a way that will appeal to a wide audience.”— Louisville Courier-Journal

Click here to download the cover of Black Box in PDF format.

Black Box (Old Cove Press, 2005)

Excerpts from Black Box

  Download the cover art (Book design by Nyoka Hawkins -


Photos by Rachel Eliza Griffiths. Please credit the photographer if you use these photos.

Click a thumbnail to download the high-resolution version.